Skip to content

Beyond Q A: Six Strategies That Motivate ALL Students to Participate | Edutopia

September 19, 2013

I just discovered Edutopia yesterday.  I had seen the site, created by George Lucus’ Education Foundation, on the internet before but had never had the time to dive in.  Wow, what a great resource!   There is a ton of information for us all to use.

Last night after putting the kids to bed, I read an article about how to get students to participate more in class.  These strategies are ones most of us already know and practice in our classrooms (providing wait time and handing out questions in advance).  However, I really appreciated the suggestions to help the kinesthetic learners in our classrooms, which lend themselves to my post yesterday – A Trip to the Dentist, about differentiation and the OG approach.

I am hoping to get this blog to be more of a discussion than a monologue.  Please take a look at the article and leave a comment either about it or ways you get your students to participate more in class.  Many thanks!

Beyond Q A: Six Strategies That Motivate ALL Students to Participate | Edutopia.

From → Pedagogy

5 Comments
  1. The snowball strategy sounds interesting – both a chance to get a visual representation and let’s the students move around a little at the same time… Might have to try that if I find myself in a teaching situation again.

  2. stephanie permalink

    I have such short classes and I teach math, so a lot of these ideas won’t work for my situation. What works best for me is having a supportive classroom – kids are never called on to “correct” someone else’s mistake, I never call on someone who raises their hand while someone is in the middle of answering a question (they learn that one quickly), and when someone is stuck while answering I ask if they want help from someone else. Otherwise, I walk the first person through to a correct answer. I also ask open-ended questions as much as possible instead of asking for the answer – ie, how did you try to solve this? Within a month of class every student will answer questions – mostly because they learn I will call on anyone at any time (I am upfront about this and tell them I do it because I want to know what they are thinking, not just a right/wrong answer). I also ask other students to help explain if my explanation isn’t working. Great post, Dave – got me thinking!

  3. Dave permalink

    Stephanie – Great response. The article lists several strategies but if students don’t feel safe, they will never raise their hands. I completely agree. The tightrope that I have to walk is that history is an examination of ideas, and an important part of my class is allowing students to disagree and express their own opinions or point of views. Getting students to feel comfortable is key because you can’t have a free exchange of ideas without students feeling safe. Thanks so much for adding to the discussion.

    • stephanie permalink

      Good point, DQ. In math there isn’t the need for opinions. And this blog is, after all a *history* teacher’s toolbelt!

      • Steph – Sure the blog is called a “History Teachers Tool Belt” but good teaching is good teaching. If you don’t have a supportive classroom environment – 100% of the kids can’t learn 100% of the curriculum. That applies to all subjects – not just history.

Leave a Reply

