Skip to content

Finding Passion

October 9, 2013

Love this! Teachers who pursue their passions come into class more motivated to teach. More importantly, when teachers integrate students’ passions into classroom activities – a type of osmosis occurs. The student’s own passion ignites the passion for the subject matter and learning happens.

teachthrutech

This is my 15th year in education.  I have not regretted the path I have chosen.  This is what I was meant to do.  I found joy in teaching our future…preparing them to leave this world better than when they came in.  I now find joy in teaching teachers…helping guide them to get the best out of themselves and their students.

I do regret the direction education seems to be heading.  While I agree that testing and data collection has its place, I think we are going way overboard now.  We test…and collect…and test…and collect.  It seems our whole year is spent collecting and dis-aggregating data.  I do not understand how this does us any good.  We spend so much time testing, collecting, and dis-aggregating that there is no time left to do anything with the data!

Teaching is not solely about data.  It is an important piece,  but it…

View original post 339 more words

From → Pedagogy

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

