Skip to content

Genius Hour

November 22, 2013

At 5:15, I stumbled across the concept of #geniushour.  Of all the things I’ve discovered while on sabattical this is my favorite so far!

The credit for the discovery needs to go to Dennis Gordon (@gordonshistory – you’ve got to check out his twitter pic) who introduced me to the topic.

Screenshot 2013-11-22 at 05.55.37 Screenshot 2013-11-22 at 05.55.59 Screenshot 2013-11-22 at 05.56.17

Then I looked at Joy Kerr (@joykerr) information on the topic.  Very comprehensive. http://www.livebinders.com/play/play/829279

That led me to a Daniel Pink article on the topic: http://www.danpink.com/2011/05/what-your-business-can-learn-from-a-6th-grade-classroom/  My favorite part:

So how did the project turn out? Josh reports that his students tackled their tasks with “an abundance of enthusiasm.” They completed more than 20 projects. Discipline problems were nonexistent.  Students helped each other out. Administrators and Josh’s fellow teachers dropped by the classroom and were caught up in the excitement. But perhaps this exchange between Josh and one of the sixth-graders best illustrates the power of Innovation Day:

As the students were walking out at the end of the day one student stopped me and asked, ”Can we do this again tomorrow”?

I responded with, “Well, I would love to, but tomorrow is Saturday,” in a half-joking manner.

This student looked me dead in the eyes and replied, “I would come back tomorrow to do this again.”

Leave a Reply

