Skip to content

How To Escape Education’s Death Valley

September 29, 2015

How To Escape Education’s Death Valley

I’ve made it my goal this year to get back into the habit of blogging, so here is my first post.

This morning, on my way to work, I listened to Ken Robinson’s talk on how to better engage students at school, which is perhaps my favorite Ted Talk of all time.  In the talk, Robinson focuses on the problems with our educational system and how to remedy them.  What struck me this morning was his point about using a student’s strength to facilitate and encourage learning.  As he put it, “Kids prosper best with a broad curriculum that celebrates their various talents, not just a small range of them.”  So often, we spend the majority of our time as teaches focusing on what a student can’t do rather than on what they can.  It’s important that students not only know what they are good at but that they use those skills and abilities to help jump start their learning and keep them engaged in the classroom.  I’m hoping to remember that this morning as I teach active reading skills in my 7th grade English class.  

Onward…

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

