Skip to content

Next Year – Let’s Do This!

April 23, 2016

With time on my hands, I’m finally getting trained as a Google Educator (finally), dive back into the Twitter universe, and spend more time cogitating by writing articles for my blog.  The beautiful thing about doing all of this thinking is that I have had tons of ideas that I’m dying to try out for next year.  So to make sure I don’t forget them, I’m going to start a online blog post to list off  ideas and tasks that I will make a reality next year in my classroom.

  1. I’m going to take a page out of Carol Dweck’s Growth Mindset and instead of giving students grades below a B I’m going to write “not yet” to let them know in a positive way that they have still have something to learn.
  2. I’m finally going to go paperless.  For years, ever since working at Beaver Country Day School, I’ve been moving more towards digital means of having students keep track of their work and submitting their assignments to me.  However, next year I’m going to make it my mission so that all students are able to keep their work and submit it electronically.
  3. I’m going to use CrashCourse.com more.  Kids love it and so do I.
  4. If I teach English, I want to find a way of diagramming sentences electronically. Doing it on paper can be quite boring, but I really find value in having students label the parts of speech kinesthetically to draw out and label the grammar within the sentences that they write.  (Anyone have any good suggestions?)
  5. Ever since visiting Dan Welty’s physics class, I have made an effort to do more flipped learning in my own classroom. Next year, I want to continue that process so students and I will create videos for each other with the goal of improving the content and increasing the learning.  I think a good goal would be to flip 25% of my class.
  6. Tweet authors of books we are reading in class to see if we can get out shout out!
  7. In addition to the A to Z reading challenge, have students read sixty books per year.  To help them reach their goal, have students read aloud at least once per month to younger kids.  https://sixtybooks.com/
  8. Use primary sources more – especially graphic or visual sources
  9. Utilize Google Sites for Education to keep students and parents up to date on what’s happening in my classroom
  10. Have students ask questions about homework and content using Google Hangouts.
2 Comments
  1. This is such a great idea. You’ve inspired me to start a similar list with my own professional goals. Thank you for sharing your journey.

Leave a Reply

