Skip to content

School Dreams

May 31, 2016

Woa!  I just woke up from a dream where I was a student going to school in the 1920s.  The dream was so powerful that it has stayed with me, and I decided to turn it into a blog post.

What made the dream so sensational?  The teaching was:

  • Experimental.  Since it was the 20’s, I had the pleasure of speaking to former slaves about what the experience of forced servitude was like.  As I sat hearing their stories, I couldn’t stop listening because their narratives were so fascinating.
  • Kinesthetic.  At one point, I was actually being taught how to shoot a gun.  Instead of learning in a classroom, my teacher was showing me how to shoot outside by firing at trees miles away (I know – it makes no sense but it’s a dream).  Being able to hold the gun made the experience and the learning far more real.
  • Relational.  I loved how close I felt to my teacher.  She clearly cared about me and my learning style.  At one point, she mentioned that she had seen me looking at another student’s paper while taking a test.  When I explained that I had been distracted and was just looking around the room, she didn’t hold my wandering eyes against me because she knew how difficult it was for me to stay focused as a student.
  • Exciting. In my dream, I remember being so excited to go to school that I actually ran with my friends there.  We were waiting at our bus stop and decided to jog so we could get there earlier.
  • Important.  The biggest difference between my dream and reality was the importance that was put on the actual learning.  No matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t get enough learning, and the content I was absorbing was so important to me.
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

